skip to content

Cambridge Real Estate Research Centre


CALL FOR PAPERS:  Joint Workshop Series on Sustainable Property Markets

The University of Tokyo (Center for Spatial Information Science) and The University of Cambridge (Cambridge Centre for Real Estate Research) are jointly organizing a series of online workshops with a focus on sustainable property markets. The workshop series will feature in-depth paper presentations and aims to stimulate discussions among presenters, assigned discussants, and other participants. The Organizing Committee would greatly appreciate any submissions on the topics of sustainable or green real estate, the economics of energy efficiency in buildings, climate change mitigation and adaption as well as the broader role of real estate markets in a sustainable society. Papers will be selected based on a competitive review process. Papers and discussant contributions are welcome from both established and junior researchers.

Paper Submission

The deadline for submission of papers is Friday, April 30th, 2021. From the submissions, the organizers intend to select nine papers for presentation at the workshop, with authors being notified by May 31st, 2021. Authors may submit complete papers or extended abstracts that include preliminary results. All accepted authors may choose to submit their papers for publication in a special issue of Sustainability with a peer-review after the workshop. Authors should submit their papers electronically with full contact details to Chihiro Shimizu (, Center for Spatial Information Science, The University of Tokyo.

The Program & Format

Each paper presentation session will last around 40 minutes, including sufficient time for paper presentation for 20 minutes, formal discussion by discussant for 10 minutes, and general Q&A with the audience for 10 minutes.

  • Friday, June 25th: 9:00 AM – 11:00AM (BST) 3 paper sessions
  • Friday, July 23rd: 9:00 AM – 11:00AM (BST) 3 paper sessions
  • Friday, August 27th: 9:00 AM – 11:00AM (BST) 3 paper sessions


  • Chihiro Shimizu (The University of Tokyo)
  • Franz Fuerst (University of Cambridge)
  • Nikodem Szumilo (University College London)
  • Georgia Warren-Myers (The University of Melbourne)
  • Hiroki Baba (Kyoto University)